MINUTES OF THE SPECIAL MEETING OF LAOIS COUNTY COUNCIL HELD IN ÁRAS AN CHONTAE ON THE 16TH OF MARCH 2011

PRESENT:	Councillors	James Deegan Rotimi Adebari Pat Bowe Ben Brennan James Daly Catherine Fitzgerald John King Seamus McDonald Tom Mulhall Mary Sweeney	In the Chair William Aird Patrick Bracken Ray Cribbin John Joe Fennelly David Goodwin Michael Lalor John Moran Brendan Phelan
APOLOGIES:	Councillor	John Bonham Jeremiah Lodge Kathleen O' Brien	Padraig Fleming Paul Mitchell Martin Phelan

IN ATTENDANCE:

Messers Gerry Gibson, Deputy County Manager, Ms. Carmel McNicholl, Senior Executive Officer & Ms. Michelle McCormack, Executive Secretary

25. FILLING OF CASUAL VACANCY ON LAOIS COUNTY COUNCIL

The Cathaoirleach, Councillor James Deegan welcomed all Members to the Council Chamber to the special meeting for the purpose of the filling of the casual vacancy on Laois County Council following Councillor Brian Stanley's election to Dáil Eireann.

Ms. Carmel McNicholl, Senior Executive Officer read out the nomination received from Sinn Féin Head Office and also the letter of consent received from Mr. Alan Hand, T.C.

On the proposition of Councillor Pat Bowe and seconded by Councillor Ben Brennan, Mr. Alan Hand was unanimously co-opted to Laois County Council, to fill the casual vacancy.

This concluded the business of the meeting.

CATHAOIRLEACH

SIGNED:

CERTIFIED:

DIRECTOR OF CORPORATE AFFAIRS