MINUTES OF THE ANNUAL GENERAL MEETING OF LAOIS COUNTY COUNCIL HELD IN ÁRAS AN CHONTAE, PORTLAOISE ON 27th OF JUNE 2011

PRESENT: Councillors James Daly In the Chair

Rotimi Adebari William Aird
Pat Bowe John Bonham
Paddy Bracken Ben Brennan
Ray Cribbin James Deegan
John Joe Fennelly Catherine Fitzgerald

Padraig Fleming David Goodwin

Alan Hand

Michael Lalor

Seamus McDonald

John King

Jerry Lodge

Paul Mitchell

Tom Mulhall

Kathleen O' Brien

Martin Phelan

Mary Sweeney

IN ATTENDANCE:

Messers Peter Carey, County Manager, Gerry Gibson, Director of Services, Declan Byrne, Director of Services, John Daly, Director of Services, Gerry Murphy, Head of Finance, Ms. Anna Marie Delaney, Director of Services, Ms. Josephine Kavanagh, Administrative Officer & Ms. Michelle McCormack, Executive Secretary.

102. PRESENTATION TO OUTGOING CATHAOIRLEACH

Mr. James Deegan, Cathaoirleach welcomed the County Manager, Members of Laois County Council and Guests to the Council Chamber for the Annual General Meeting of Laois County Council and reflected on his term of office and highlights during his time as Cathaoirleach. The Cathaoirleach expressed thanks to Mr. Peter Carey, County Manager, Management & Staff at Áras an Chontae, Members of Laois County Council, Members of the Press and in particular his family members for their support during 2010/2011.

Councillor Jerry Lodge & Councillor Pat Bowe, on behalf of their own groups, thanked the Cathaoirleach and congratulated him. The County Manager, Mr. Peter Carey, County Manager, on behalf of Management & Staff also joined with the Members in paying tribute to the Cathaoirleach.

Mr. Peter Carey, County Manager made a formal presentation to Mr. James Deegan, the outgoing Cathaoirleach of a bound book of minutes of meetings during his term as Cathaoirleach, together with a photo album of events attended.

103. ELECTION OF CATHAOIRLEACH

It was proposed by Councillor Martin Phelan and seconded by Councillor Michael Lalor

"That Councillor John Bonham be appointed Cathaoirleach for the coming year"

It was proposed by Councillor Ray Cribbin and seconded by Councillor Seamus McDonald

"That Councillor Jerry Lodge be appointed Cathaoirleach for the coming year"

A roll call vote was taken which resulted as follows:-

COUNCILLOR		FOR COUNCILLOR BONHAM	FOR COUNCILLOR LODGE	ABSTENTION
FIRST NAME	SURNAME			
Rotimi	ADEBARI		✓	
Willie	AIRD	✓		
John	BONHAM	✓		
Pat	BOWE		✓	
Paddy	BRACKEN		✓	
Ben	BRENNAN	✓		
Raymond	CRIBBIN		✓	
James	DALY	✓		
James	DEEGAN	✓		
John Joe	FENNELLY		✓	
Catherine	FITZGERALD		✓	
Padraig	FLEMING		✓	
David	GOODWIN	✓		
Alan	HAND		✓	
John	KING	✓		
Michael	LALOR	✓		
Jerry	LODGE		✓	
Seamus	MCDONALD		✓	
Paul	MITCHELL	✓		
John Robert	MORAN	✓		
Tom	MULHALL	✓		
Kathleen	O'BRIEN	✓		
Brendan	PHELAN		✓	
Martin	PHELAN	✓		
Mary	SWEENEY	✓		

As a result of the Roll Call Vote, there was 14 votes in favour of Councillor John Bonham and 11 votes in favour of Councillor Jerry Lodge. Councillor John Bonham having been elected thanked his proposer and seconder and all his colleagues who supported him and he then took the Chair.

He commiserated with Councillor Jerry Lodge. Councillor Jerry Lodge thanked his proposer and seconder and congratulated Councillor John Bonham. Councillor John Joe Fennelly & Councillor Rotimi Adebari on behalf of their groups congratulated Councillor Bonham on his election.

The County Manager Mr. Peter Carey, on behalf of the Management and staff at Áras an Chontae extended congratulations to Councillor Bonham on his election as Cathaoirleach of Laois County Council for 2011/2012 and wished him well in his term.

104. ELECTION OF LEAS- CATHAOIRLEACH

It was proposed by Councillor Mary Sweeney and seconded by Councillor Kathleen O' Brien

"That Councillor William Aird be appointed Leas-Cathaoirleach for the coming year"

It was proposed by Councillor Brendan Phelan and seconded by Councillor Padraig Fleming

"That Councillor Catherine Fitzgerald be appointed Leas-Cathaoirleach for the coming year"

A roll call vote was taken which resulted as follows:-

COUN	ICILLOR	FOR COUNCILLOR AIRD	FOR COUNCILLOR FITZGERALD	ABSTENTION
FIRST NAME	SURNAME			
Rotimi	ADEBARI	✓		
Willie	AIRD	✓		
John	BONHAM	✓		
Pat	BOWE		✓	
Paddy	BRACKEN		✓	
Ben	BRENNAN	✓		
Raymond	CRIBBIN		✓	
James	DALY	✓		
James	DEEGAN	✓		

John Joe	FENNELLY		✓	
Catherine	FITZGERALD		✓	
Padraig	FLEMING		✓	
David	GOODWIN	✓		
Alan	HAND		✓	
John	KING	✓		
Michael	LALOR	✓		
Jerry	LODGE		✓	
Seamus	MCDONALD		✓	
Paul	MITCHELL	✓		
John Robert	MORAN	✓		
Tom	MULHALL	✓		
Kathleen	O'BRIEN	✓		
Brendan	PHELAN		✓	
Martin	PHELAN	✓		
Mary	SWEENEY	✓		

As a result of the Roll Call Vote, there was 15 votes in favour of Councillor William Aird and 10 votes in favour of Councillor Catherine Fitzgerald. Councillor William Aird having been elected Leas-Cathaoirleach thanked his proposer and seconder.

This concluded the business of the meeting.

SIGNED:		CERTIFIED:		
	CATHAOIRLEACH	DIRECTOR OF CORPORATE AFFAIRS		