skip main navigation

Laois Co Co - Portlaoise Town Council

You are here: Home / Your Council / Town Councils / Portlaoise Town Council

Main Navigation: | Home | Planning | Housing | Roads | Environment & Water | Business | Leisure & Culture | Community & Living | Your Council | Contact Us

Sub navigation: | Portlaoise Town Councillors

Portlaoise Town Council

Portlaoise Town Council was dissolved on the 1st June, 2014.

Portlaoise Town Council like all Town Councils, have their origin in the 1800’s, obtaining most of their statutory powers under the Town Improvement (Ireland) Act 1854.
As a democratically elected Town Authority, Portlaoise Town Council see their role as primarily to provide civic leadership and a focus for the town and its citizens. Portlaoise is the largest town in Laois and it has a population of 14,275 (Census 2006).
Portlaoise is twinned with Coulounieix-Chamiers, a suburb of Perigeux in the Dordogne area near Bordeaux and located in the South-West of France. The official twinning ceremony took place on 28th April, 1996.

Election of Mayor and Vice-Mayor

The last AGM of Portlaoise Town Council was held on the 18th June, 2013

Councillor Willie Aird(FG) was elected Mayor of Portlaoise Town Council for 2013-2014

Councilor Jerry Lodge(FF) was elected Leas-Cathaoirleach for Portlaoise Town Council for 2013-2014

Portlaoise Town Councillors

The nine Town Councillors, headed up by the Cathaoirleach , carry out the representational role of the Council.

The elected members are as follows,

Mayor: Mr.William Aird, M.C.C.,T.C., Nutgrove, Portlaoise, Co.Laois (F.G.)

Vice Mayor: Mr. Jerry Lodge, M.C.C., T.C., Ridge Road, Portlaoise,Co Laois. (F.F.)

Ms Kathleen O'Brien, M.C.C., T.C., 6 Millview, Portlaoise, Co. Laois (F.G)

Ms Caroline Dwane T.C., 40 Clonrooske Abbey, Portlaoise, Co. Laois.(S.F.)

Mr. Tom Jacob, T.C., Ard na Greine, Glenside, Portlaoise, Co.Laois. (Non-Party)

Mr.Rotimi Adebari, M.C.C., T.C., 12 Colliers Court, Portlaoise, Co. Laois. ( Non-Party)

Mr Matthew Keegan,T.C. 16, Westlands, Mountrath Road, Portlaoise, Co. Laois (F.G.) 

Ms.Catherine Fitzgerald, M.C.C. T.C., 14, Cherrygarth, Portlaoise, Co. Laois. (F.F.)

Manager:              Mr. Michael Rainey

Town Clerk:          Ms Pamela Tynan

Town Engineer:    Mr. Farhan Nasiem

| Site Tools | Sitemap | Accessibility | Privacy | CSS | XHTML | RSS | Disclaimer
© Copyright 2006 Laois County Council