Roadworks Information

Our overall objective is to construct, maintain and improve public roads and motorways to cater for the ever increasing volume of traffic and to provide the necessary infrastructure to support economic and social development.

The other principal activity is the implementation of traffic management schemes, cycle and pedestrian facilities, road safety measures including the promotion of road safety awareness and the operation of the school warden service.

“Public Road” as defined by Section 11 of the Roads Act, 1993 is any road over which a public right of way exists and the responsibility for its maintenance rests with the roads authority”.

Roads are classified as follows:-

  • National Primary – major roads linking cities, principal ports, airports and large towns and declared to be a national road by the Minister for Environment and Local Government under the Roads Act, 1993.
  • Regional Roads – are declared to be regional roads by the Minister for Environment and Local Government and are important feeder routes to the national roads
  • Local Roads – includes all urban and rural other than national or regional roads.

Any current Roadworks are listed here:

Temporary Road Closures – Various Locations – Watermains Maintenance

In accordance with the provisions of Section 75 of the Roads Act, 1993 and Article 12 of the Roads Regulations, 1994, Laois County Council having given the required notice has decided to temporarily close sections of public roads at various locations in Laois for durations of 1 to 4 days between Wednesday 17th June 2015 and Friday 17th June 2016, to facilitate essential maintenance of the water mains network.

List of affected roads: ‌Road Closures – Watermains Maintenance‌

Local access will be maintained. Appropriate signage will be in place to divert traffic along alternative route(s).

Any inconvenience caused is regretted.

(Road Regulations 1994)

In accordance with the provisions of Section 75 of the above Act and Article 12 of the Roads Regulations, 1994, Laois County Council hereby serves notice that it is intended to temporarily close the following roads in the vicinity of The Heath and Derryguile between 08.00a.m and 18.00 p.m. on 11th June, 2017. The closure is necessary to facilitate the Heartlands Rally for Laois Rally Sports Club. The following is a list of roads which are to be closed:-
Stage 1
L-6136-1, L-2120-45, L-2115-0, L-6116-0, L-2117-0, L-6119-0, L-2120-0, L-21202-0, L-21332-0
Stage 2
L-3813-0, L-3813-0, L-78132-0, L-7820-0, L-7821-0, L-3818-0, L-38172-0, L-3817-25, L-7816-0, L-78151-0, L-7815-0
The Laois Rally Sports Club will be erecting the appropriate signage and arranging manned points to divert traffic to the alternative route. Local access will be provided in emergencies. A map indicating the routes to be closed and the alternative routes will be available for inspection at and Áras an Chontae, Portlaoise. Participants of the rally will not be permitted to view the maps.

Any person wishing to object to the proposed road closure should do so in writing to the Administrative Officer, Roads Section, Laois County Council, not later than 4.00 pm on Wednesday 24th May, 2017.


Roads Programme 2017

NOTICE IS HEREBY GIVEN that Laois County Council under Section 75 of the Roads Act, 1993, intends to close the following roads to public traffic to allow for strengthening and/or surface dressing.
It is intended to close these roads for a period of 1-3 days between the 18th May and the 03rd November, 2017. Please note: Access for residents will be accommodated where possible. Diversions will be clearly signposted.

Road Number Road Name and/or Townland Name
R-430-198     Spink
L-81010-0      Hawthorn Drive
R-427               Pass
L-5678-0         Roskelton
L-16523-0      Shanahoe
L-21133-0      Pallas
L-77951-0      Aghnacross
L-81970          Maryborough
L-6135-0        Straboe
R-425-75        Cashel
L-6140-0        Ballydavis
L-2680-0        Raheen
L-6138-0        Ratheven

Road Number     Road Name / Location
R-430                Towlerton / Keeloge
L-3960              Rahin Cross – Fallaghmore
L-3817              Ballyduff Cross
L-39301            Bellgrove
L- 3870             Ballylehane Upper
L-39761            Dunbrin – Whitebog
L- 7680             Slatt Cross Road – Doonane
L- 3813             Ballycarroll
L- 7893            Strand Bridge – Towlerton
L- 38991          Garrendenny Lane
R-431               Mayo to Crettyard
L-3899             Kilgorey
L-7895/L-38962 Coornariska
L- 3818             Rathmore
R-419                Coolbanagher
L- 71502           Redline Cluarry to Heath
L-3976              Dunbrin
L-3976-21       Kilmoroney
L-7160              Emo
L-7911              Killeshin

Borris in Ossory – Mountmellick Municipal District
Road Number Road Name and/or Townland Name
L-1077             Redcastle
L-1514             Borris-In-Ossory link road to R435
L-5074             Newline Road
L-1059             Winsor
L-2120             Acragar
R-423               Borness Road
L-2095             Clonaheen
L-2013             Melick- Drummond
L-1632             Tooreagh
L-1598             Donaghmore to Castletown
R-433               Knackardagannon North to Erril
L-15363          Lismurragh
L-5595             Middlemount
L-5754             Tubberboe
L-2009             Reary beg



IMPORTANT – Roadworks and Lane Closures – M7/M8 in August & September, 2017







For loads proposing to use the M7/M8 in August & September, 2017 please refer to above table for dates of works. NB – All vehicles over 3.25m in width will not be allowed through the works during these dates.